Via M. Rossi Sidoli, 15 - 43053 - Compiano (PR)
Phone: +39 0525825541
After the last decree DPCM of November 4, 2020 the castle in temporarily closed.
open from February to December
Saturday, Sunday and festivities at 10am, 11am, 12pm, 2pm, 3pm, 4pm, 5pm.
A reservation is necessary tel. +39 0525825541
entrance with guided tour full price € 7,00; concessions € 5,00.
Part of a feud for which the Municipalities of Parma and Piacenza competed for in the 12th century, the castle rises to dominate the river Taro from a stretegic point of view on the valley.
It had been dominion of the Landi family of Sacred Roman Empire for four centuries, followed in 1682 by the Farnese who reigned on the Duchy of Parma and Piacenza.
The castle was then transformed in a State jail by Maria Luisa d’Austria in the first half of the 19th century.
After the Unification of Italy it became property of the Curia and seat of the Female college of the Sacred heart in Compiano. It was bought in 1962 by the Marchioness Lina Raimondi Gambarotta who turned it into a private residence. At her death the noble woman gave the property to the Municipality of Compiano that opened its salons to the public, showing a prestigious collection of art pievec. In 2002 was added a museum dedicated to the Masonry.
The castle has a trapezoid plan with a rectangular tower and three round towers at each corner, reinforced by high walls.
The top floor has been restored to host a hotel.
The castle hosts these museums:
Gambarotta museum: salons with furnitures of the last owner, the Marchioness Lina Raimondi Gambarotta, with a rich collection of art pieces from the 17th to the 20th centuries.
International Massonic museum: a unique museum dedicated to the Masonry in Italy. The first room, the Hall 33, preserves remains donated by the Grande Oriente d’Italia, Giustiniani palace.
Enogastronomic museum: made in the old kitchens of the castle.