Parco Ducale - 43121 - Parma (PR)
from November to March every day from 7am to 8pm. From April to October every day from 6am to 12am.
The elaborated green architecture of the old trees in the Ducal Park was designed and in 1560 and extended in the 18th century. Decorated with sculptures by J.B. Boudard, it was subsequently adapted to the French style.
The Park plays host to the Ducal Palace and the Palazzetto Eucherio Sanvitale, built in Renaissance style in 1520 by Giorgio Da Erba. The little palace boasts frescoes by Parmigianino depicting a Madonna and child, recently restored, and an oil painting on a wall with scenes from the Life of the Virgin in the late Mannerist style, attributed to the clergyman Cosimo Piazza, with grotesque and landscapes dating back to the late 16th century.
To be noticed in the park are also the Arcadia woods, ruins of the temple of Arcadia by Petitot, where Parmesan Arcadians used to meet in the 18th century.
The Fountain of Parma river, placed in the middle of the lake, was once located in the Ducal Palace in Colorno. Under Marie Louise, who opened the Park to the citizens, its botanical features were radically changed in order to bring it more in line with the English style.
Facilities in the park include a playground for kids, fountains, sport tracks, area for dogs, cafè with outdoor tables.
For kids available the “grasshoppers” small bikes to rent, from May to end October (if the weather is good) from 3.30pm to 7.30pm, Saturday and Sunday from 9.30am to 12.30pm and from 3.30pm to 7.30pm.